

AOGS 會議背景簡介

Introduction of AOGS

AOGS website: http://www.asiaoceania.org/society/index.asp

Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS) is an international society established since 2003; formed by like-minded individuals to promote geophysical science and public benefits for Asia and Oceania. Our society participates actively and advances in this field through publication of international journals and developing close connections with local and regional societies. We strive to remain in touch with and contribute to the geophysical world community through cooperation with EGS, AGU and IUGG.

Our mission is to promote geophysical science for the benefit of humanity in Asia and Oceania. AOGS sees the region that stretches from Kashmir to Wellington as a hotbed filled with challenges and nascent potential. Asia and Oceania currently holds the largest population, and is still rapidly developing. There are unique scientific issues to discover and understand in a region that is more diverse than any other regions.

AOGS has formed some Sections related to different fields of science:

SE	Solid Earth Sciences (geology, geodesy, geophysics, geochemistry)
AS	Atmospheric Sciences (Small scale and local wind systems, air pollution, mesoscale processes, global wind systems, cyclones, weather forecasting, atmospheric chemistry, global climate and its change)
os	Ocean Sciences (Estuarine and costal oceanography, ocean circulation, marine biogeochemistry, paleoceanography, marine geology, and atmosphere-ocean coupling.
PS	Planetary Sciences (interior, surface, magnetosphere, ionosphere, and upper atmosphere of solar system bodies other than earth)
ST	Solar and Terrestrial Sciences (sun, interplanetary medium, heliosphere, the magnetosphere, ionosphere, and upper atmosphere of planet earth, space weather)
HS	Hydrological Sciences (Hydrometeorology, Surface Water Hydrology, Ground Water Hydrology, Water Resources Planning and Management, Hydroinformatics)
NH	Natural hazards, earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanoes, etc
NL	Non-linear geophysics
PR	Polar research

Since 2005, we began to hold annual meeting of Asia Oceania Geosciences Society in different countries and there did great contribution to study of earth sciences.

Executive Committee Members

President	Vice President	Secretary General
Harsh Gupta	Dong-Kyou Lee	Minhan Dai
National Geophysical Research	Seoul National University	Xiamen University
Institute	dklee@snu.ac.kr	mdai@xmu.edu.cn
harshgupta@nic.in		
Asst Secretary General	Treasurer	Assistant Treasurer
		25.
Iver Cairns	Xi Xi Lu	David Laurence Higgitt
Iver Cairns University of Sydney	Xi Xi Lu National University of	David Laurence Higgitt National University of
	-	

Section Presidents

Atmospheric Sciences (AS)	Atmospheric Sciences (AS)	Hydrological Sciences (HS)
President	Vice President	President
Chun-Chieh Wu	Jai-Ho Oh	Namsik Park
National Taiwan University	Pukyong National University	Dong-A University
cwu@typhoon.as.ntu.edu.tw	jhoh@pknu.ac.kr	nspark@dau.ac.kr

Hydrological Sciences (HS)	Ocean Sciences (OS)	Ocean Sciences (OS)
Vice President	President	Vice President
Shie-Yui Liong	Dake Chen	Minhan Dai
National University of	Second Institute of	Xiamen University
Singapore	Oceanography	mdai@xmu.edu.cn
tmslsy@nus.edu.sg	Lamont-Doherty Earth	
	Observatory of Columbia	
	University	
	dchen@ldeo.columbia.edu	
Planetary Sciences (PS)	Planetary Sciences (PS)	Solar & Terrestrial Sciences (ST)
President	Vice President	President
Tatsuaki Okada	Anil Bhardwaj	P.K. Manoharan
Institute of Space and	Space Physics Laboratory	Tata Institute of Fundamental
Astronautical Science / Japan	Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre	Research
Aerospace Exploration Agency	anil_bhardwaj@vssc.gov.in	mano@ncra.tifr.res.in
okada@planeta.sci.isas.jaxa.jp		
Solar & Terrestrial Sciences (ST)	Solid Earth Sciences (SE)	Solid Earth Sciences (SE)

Vice President
Xiaohua Deng
Wuhan University

President
Yue-Gau Chen
National Taiwan University
ygchen@ntu.edu.tw

Vice President
Ching-Hua Lo
National Taiwan University

dengxh@public.wh.hb.cn

loch@ntu.edu.tw

Section Secretaries

AS Section

Kevin K. W. CHEUNG *Macquarie University* kcheung@els.mq.edu.au

Tieh-Yong KOH

Nanyang Technological University

kohty@ntu.edu.sg

Seon-Ki PARK

Ewha Womans University

spark@ewha.ac.kr; seonp@paran.com

Jun MATSUMOTO

Tokyo Metropolitan University

jun@center.tmu.ac.jp

HS Section

Chavalit CHALEERAKTRAKOON

Thammasat University cchava@engr.tu.ac.th

Tao PENG

Institute of Heavy Rain, CMA

pt mail@sohu.com

Srivatsan VIJAYARAGHAVAN

National University of Singapore

tmsvs@nus.edu.sg

So KAZAMA

Tohoku University

kazama@kaigan.civil.tohoku.ac.jp

OS Section

Murty VADLAMANI

National Institute of Oceanography Regional

Centre

vsnmurty@nio.org

ST Section

Nanan BALAN

University of Sheffield

B.Nanan@sheffield.ac.uk; b.nanan@hotmail.com

Marcus DULDIG

Australian Antarctic Division marc.duldig@aad.gov.au

Qiugang ZONG

University of Massachusetts Lowell

qiugang_zong@uml.edu

SE Section

Carlo ARCILLA

University of the Philippines

caloy.arcilla@gmail.com

Fuqiong HUANG

China Earthquake Network Center

hfqiong@seis.ac.cn; hfqiongnew@hotmail.com

Javed MALIK

Indian Institue of Technology Kanpur

javed@iitk.ac.in

Guan Hoe TEH

PS Section

S. A. HAIDER

Physical Research Laboratory

haider@prl.res.in

Sho SASAKI

National Astronomical Observatory

sho@miz.nao.ac.jp

Susan MCKENNA-LAWLOR

National University Ireland

stil@nuim.ie

David HUESTIS

SRI International

david.huestis@sri.com; dlhuestis@aol.com

Giovanni DE ANGELIS

National Institute of Health

giovanni.deangelis@iss.it; gianni.deangelis@iol.it

Jun KIMURA

CPS

junkim@ep.sci.hokudai.ac.jp

University of Malaya tehgh@um.edu.my

Pornsawat WATHANAKUL

Kasetsart University

pwathanakul@gmail.com

Khin ZAW

University of Tasmania

Khin.Zaw@utas.edu.au

Sang-Mook LEE

Seoul National University

smlee@snu.ac.kr